Do you ever discard when declaring a win?

Japanese Reach Mahjong Rules. Strategy, news, sets - anything!

Moderator: Shirluban

Post Reply
p.boyce
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 1:20 am

Do you ever discard when declaring a win?

Post by p.boyce » Wed Jan 01, 2020 1:33 am

My group are learners. The person "teaching" us says it is okay to discard when completing mahjong, but I don't understand how a player could have 14 tiles if they discard one.

User avatar
or2az
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 801
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 5:10 pm
Location: USA

Re: Do you ever discard when declaring a win?

Post by or2az » Wed Jan 01, 2020 5:57 am

You do NOT discard when declaring a win.
The 14th tile that you get is your winning tile that completes your hand.
For example, you have in your hand 13 tiles,
3-dot 4-dot 5-dot 8-bam 8-bam 8-bam red-dra red-dra red-dra 2-crak 2-crak 6-crak 7-crak.
When you get the 5-crak or 8-crak , it completes your hand, you call either ron or tsumo, and you win.
No discard.
Welcome to the forum.

User avatar
Shirluban
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 775
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:53 pm
Location: Svartalfheim
Contact:

Re: Do you ever discard when declaring a win?

Post by Shirluban » Wed Jan 01, 2020 10:07 am

Hello and welcome.

Completing a mahjong hand ends the game, so you do NOT discard.
What variant are you learning?

I've only heard of one single rule in the world where play continues (Sichuan Bloody Rules), but I've never found any clear and complete description of it.
And even then, the winner stops playing, so it seems implied they don't discard either.
Cats don't do タンヤオ (tan-yao) but タニャーオ (ta-nya-o).
World Riichi Championship Rules
Comparison of riichi rules around the world

p.boyce
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2020 1:20 am

Re: Do you ever discard when declaring a win?

Post by p.boyce » Wed Jan 01, 2020 1:33 pm

Thanks. I believe our confusion was caused by her not mentioning that a player draws a replacement tile from the wall after making a Kong.
She was teaching us a bastard version of Filipino Mahjong, dumbed down for a group of senior Anerican women. She dumbed it down so far that she had play moving clockwise instead of counter clockwise. I have already erased those rules from my memory banks! :D

Lxa_
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 4:27 pm

Re: Do you ever discard when declaring a win?

Post by Lxa_ » Tue Jan 28, 2020 5:27 pm

The complete description of Sichuan Bloody Rules can be found here: http://mahjongpictureguide.com/pdf/SBR-Reference.pdf

And of course, the winner does not discard. In Sichuan Bloody Rules, the winner:
- says "hu"
- turns their standing tiles face down
- takes the winning tile and places it face up either on the left, right or in the middle of their face down tiles to indicate the player who dealt in (similarly to how you meld a pung or kong)
- in the case of tsumo, the winning tile is placed face down together with the winner's face down tiles
- and if there are still at least two non-winner players remaining, the game continues with the next non-winner player in turn drawing a tile from the wall.

User avatar
Shirluban
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 775
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:53 pm
Location: Svartalfheim
Contact:

Re: Do you ever discard when declaring a win?

Post by Shirluban » Wed Jan 29, 2020 9:43 am

Thanks.
Cats don't do タンヤオ (tan-yao) but タニャーオ (ta-nya-o).
World Riichi Championship Rules
Comparison of riichi rules around the world

Post Reply