Furiten override?
Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 11:58 am
Hello dear fellow players!
Would somebody please explain what happened in this situation? North will discard 6man and West rons.
I thought West is not able to ron because he's temporarily furiten on the my discarded 6man. So what's the deal here? Does West "override" furiten because of Houtai? Is this possible? I would say no. But Tenhou says yes. This would also translate into a new rule stating: No matter how much furiten you are you can always win on Houtai.
Some methaphysical stuff: Do you guys think that West must have had some outer body experience allowing him to travel 5 seconds into the future and foresee North's discard? I mean if he took my discard he would have won 2000 points, too less to get away from last-place-hell. But North's Houtai discard gives him 3han 30 translating into 3900 points - the only way to avoid last place...
Would somebody please explain what happened in this situation? North will discard 6man and West rons.
I thought West is not able to ron because he's temporarily furiten on the my discarded 6man. So what's the deal here? Does West "override" furiten because of Houtai? Is this possible? I would say no. But Tenhou says yes. This would also translate into a new rule stating: No matter how much furiten you are you can always win on Houtai.

Some methaphysical stuff: Do you guys think that West must have had some outer body experience allowing him to travel 5 seconds into the future and foresee North's discard? I mean if he took my discard he would have won 2000 points, too less to get away from last-place-hell. But North's Houtai discard gives him 3han 30 translating into 3900 points - the only way to avoid last place...
