Japanese Reach Mahjong Rules. Strategy, news, sets - anything!
Moderator: Shirluban
-
Fat*Dragon
- Fresh Reacher

- Posts: 40
- Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 9:18 am
Post
by Fat*Dragon » Wed Jul 06, 2011 11:58 am
Hello dear fellow players!
Would somebody please explain what happened in this situation? North will discard 6man and West rons.
I thought West is not able to ron because he's temporarily furiten on the my discarded 6man. So what's the deal here? Does West "override" furiten because of Houtai? Is this possible? I would say no. But Tenhou says yes. This would also translate into a new rule stating: No matter how much furiten you are you can always win on Houtai.
Some methaphysical stuff: Do you guys think that West must have had some outer body experience allowing him to travel 5 seconds into the future and foresee North's discard? I mean if he took my discard he would have won 2000 points, too less to get away from last-place-hell. But North's Houtai discard gives him 3han 30 translating into 3900 points - the only way to avoid last place...

- furiten_1.jpg (173.59 KiB) Viewed 5001 times
-
Shirluban
- Moderator

- Posts: 780
- Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:53 pm
- Location: Svartalfheim
-
Contact:
Post
by Shirluban » Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:52 pm
1)
A player is no longer temporary furiten after his turn.
Here we have:
East discard 6m -> West is temporary furiten
South discard Green -> West is still temporary furiten
West draw a tile -> West stops being temporary furiten
West discard Red
North discard 6m -> West can ron it, he's not furiten at this point.
2)
It's the 4th hand or South round.
If he wins with only 2000 points, the game ends and he's last.
It's better to let pass the 2000 points win here -> the hand is a draw -> a new hand is played -> a new hope.
If with Houtai he get enough points to rank up -> ron.