Let's consider following hand:













you draw


Any help is appreciated!
Thanks.
Moderator: Shirluban
OK, I'm having trouble understanding this. Are you saying that you would call the kan, and then call riichi on the replacement tile, right then, ON THE SAME TURN, when you discard it.Referee wrote:This is situational, but In this case, if the situation doesn't make it too dangerous, I'd call kan, and then riichi on the extra tile if not![]()
From Barticle's Japanese Mahjong Guide, Section 15: optional yaku:Kyuu wrote:After a riichi call, I've done a sad case of a "proxy rinshan" (my own coined term), where my rinshanpai after the riichi was a winning tile - for someone else (hence proxy).
カン振り/ 槓振/ カンブリ[kanburi]
Kanburi is a one-Han scoring element which can be claimed when you declare a Ron win off a
tile discarded by a player after they have just declared a Kong, taken their supplement tile and
then discarded.
Nope, you can EITHER win by rinshan kaihou OR declare reach. The point I was making is just that you can reach upon discarding said replacement tile (or whatever tile as long as you're tenpai). In the case you describe you wouldn't get the yaku "rinshan kaihou" since you didn't win on your rinshan. Also, the words may be confusing: "rinshan" which is just the Japanese word for "replacement tile" and "rinshan kaihou" which is the yaku granted for winning on this replacement tile.or2az wrote:OK, I think I got it. You are saying that if the hand was
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
and I draw the, declare the kan, and get the
![]()
as the replacement tile, which puts me in tenpai, I can call riichi immediately, discard the
, and wait for the
![]()
for the win, AND, that this doesn't contradict the answer to the original question because you are not winning on the REPLACEMENT tile.
That means that it is possible to win by calling Riichi and Rinshan Kaihou together on the same turn if you declare the kan first, and the replacement tile does not give you the win, WHICH IS EXACTLY WHAT REFEREE SAID! Good Job, Guys!
If quoting my guide please give credit and context. In this case the crucial context being that Kanburi is an optional (and uncommon) yaku.Iapetus wrote:[kanburi]