Help

Guides and beginner's help. If you're new to mahjong, this forum is for you. All questions are welcome - don't hesitate to ask.

Moderator: Shirluban

Mycroft02
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher

Help

Post by Mycroft02 » Fri May 22, 2020 9:16 am

I recently started playing mahjong (the japane version, called riichii i think?)

I think i am starting to understand the basics rules but there is something that bothers me. Why is that situation not a win?

5-bam 5-bam 7-dot 7-dot 7-dot 5-bam 6-bam 7-bam 3-crak 3-crak 3-crak 9-bam 9-bam 9-bam

I ve read some faq and stuff, and i think that it is because i apperently need a yaku, in order to win. But i dont understand what is a yaku. Even though i tried to understand. Can anyone explains me ?

Thanks a lot (:

Mauro
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher

Re: Help

Post by Mauro » Fri May 22, 2020 9:42 am

Yaku are a series of hand combinations and situations (like riichi itself); you can find the list according to EMA rules at the end of this manual: https://www.ermc2019.com/wp-content/upl ... 016-EN.pdf.

Your hand would have a yaku if you declared riichi, or if you had another triple instead of 5-bam 6-bam 7-bam, since having four triples and a pair is a yaku.

Mycroft02
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher

Post by Mycroft02 » Fri May 22, 2020 12:06 pm

Thanks @mauro
I think i am getting it better now. I am gonna spend some time reading the list of yaku.

Thank you for the reply ^^

Mycroft02
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher

Post by Mycroft02 » Fri May 22, 2020 1:22 pm

Thank you @mauro

Ok i think i am getting it now. Imma read the list of yaku and figure that out

Thanks a lot for the reply ^^

Referee
Expert Reacher
Expert Reacher

Post by Referee » Fri May 22, 2020 1:32 pm

On the topic of what other yaku you were close to, here's another one. If you had 8-bam 8-bam 8-bam instead of 9-bam 9-bam 9-bam you would have been able to win, since having all the pieces to be numbered between 2 and 8 (both inclusive) is a yaku.

Lxa_