Mahjong Soul - Semi-Review

Discussion on on-line and off-line mahjong softwares.

Moderator: Shirluban

wavemotion
Expert Reacher
Expert Reacher

Mahjong Soul - Semi-Review

Post by wavemotion » Thu Aug 27, 2020 12:02 pm

And the Mahjong Soul companion post for my Mahjong Hime post earlier.

Well, it's been an uphill battle getting good western (read: English) support for Japanese Riichi Mahjong. I started playing Riichi in 2005 when I imported a video game for my Sega Saturn (anymore remember that?!). It was one of those "play against anime girls" Mahjong games - and the "appeal" for the game was rather superficially in the graphics... but the gameplay intrigued me. The game had more depth than I originally gave it credit: open vs. closed, safe discards vs. pushing for a win, and the variety of colorful hands ("Heavenly Hand", "Thirteen Orphans" and "Catching the moon from the bottom of the Ocean") to shoot for.

But in 2005, if you wanted to play Riichi Mahjong, you played with a real set and 3 friends — not easy to find 3 people interested in an "obscure" Japanese form of Mahjong - especially when most people think of Mahjong as "that solitaire tile-matching game?!".

Fast forward to 2020 and we now have a number of possibilities to play Riichi Mahjong online - including the web-based Tenhou which remains the sort of "standard bearer" of clients (there are many thousands of players online at any given time). But the one leading the pack for westerners these days is Mahjong Soul.