Expert Strategies

Any suggestions or requests for the site? Let us know here!

Moderator: Shirluban

sumstuf
Fresh Reacher
Fresh Reacher

Expert Strategies

Post by sumstuf » Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:48 pm

Hey does anyone got any expert strategies to share for playing mahjong? I started playing recently and it has been fun. But, sometimes I find myself relying on luck too much. Has anyone got any expert strategies they can share?

I only played Hong Kong style mahjong, and I am just starting to learn Chinese Official and Riichi. Are mahjong strategies universal? Like are there any general strategies that are almost the same no matter which style your playing?

Tom Sloper

Re:Expert Strategies

Post by Tom Sloper » Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:36 am

sumstuf wrote:1. Are mahjong strategies universal?
2. Like are there any general strategies that are almost the same no matter which style your playing?
2. Yes, there are some strategies that carry over to numerous Asian variants.
1. Not all of them are universal.

I wrote an FAQ that covers some universal strategies (for Asian variants) and some that are specific to Japanese mahjong. It\'s at http://sloperama.com/mjfaq/mjfaq08.htm
4649おねがいします。

Poochy
Senior Reacher
Senior Reacher

Post by Poochy » Wed Jan 20, 2010 7:28 am

sumstuf wrote:Are mahjong strategies universal? Like are there any general strategies that are almost the same no matter which style your playing?
There are huge changes in strategy based on the variant you\'re playing, so I\'d say few strategies are universal. For example, if you let an opponent ron off your discard, the penalty can be quite great in Riichi, thus making it a highly defensive game. Meanwhile, in the Taiwanese variant, the penalty is a slap on the wrist, so you might as well risk it if given a choice between tenpai and a safe discard.