Search found 99 matches

by Mauro
Wed Nov 09, 2016 9:37 am
Forum: WWYD
Topic: Nanikiru? (WWYD)
Replies: 6
Views: 6090

Re: Nanikiru? (WWYD)

Would it make sense to discard green-dra ? You could have two red dora, tanyao, maybe closed sanshoku.
by Mauro
Thu Jun 02, 2016 2:48 pm
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Hand requirement (Ryanpeikou) question
Replies: 11
Views: 6693

Re: Hand requirement (Ryanpeikou) question

Under EMA rules, you simply use the most valuable hand:

All players at the table are responsible for ensuring that each winning hand is scored correctly and to the maximum points
by Mauro
Thu Mar 10, 2016 10:37 pm
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: Krabman's Tenhou adventures
Replies: 12
Views: 4062

Re: Krabman's Tenhou adventures

Same as or2az: 6 crak or white dragon; maybe 6 crak, since it's a middle tile and it's near dora, so later on could be a dangerous discard, and white dragon could lead to little three dragons; but if you had to pon red dragon I think would be quite unlikely to have it. Still, as discard later on I t...
by Mauro
Mon Feb 15, 2016 8:16 pm
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: Krabman's Tenhou adventures
Replies: 12
Views: 4062

Re: Krabman's Tenhou adventures

Good point about E3-1. I'm wondering if 4s wouldn't be the best discard there It depends if you want defend: I'd discard South and go from there. E2-0 By safe tile you mean 6m? I thought winning that hand was highly unlikely so I favored dama there But going dama you lose the chance to ron on 7p, w...
by Mauro
Mon Feb 15, 2016 5:55 pm
Forum: Reach Mahjong
Topic: Krabman's Tenhou adventures
Replies: 12
Views: 4062

Re: Krabman's Tenhou adventures

I don't play open tanyao, so keep in mind my comments could be off: About the first game: East 2/0: You could riichi discarding a safe tile and waiting on 7p 1z; that hand is at least mangan, so maybe I'd have taken the risk. East 3/1: When you discard 7m, I think I'd have discarded 2p: 2p is a lone...
by Mauro
Mon Feb 15, 2016 5:00 pm
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Do you push?
Replies: 6
Views: 1750

Re: Do you push?

One game I dropped from first to last because I paid three consecutive hands: two of them I was in riichi, the third was dama in fourth round (total: 18k). Another game, I never got tenpai. I'm sure I'm still making mistakes, but these last games luck isn't on my side :mrgreen:
by Mauro
Mon Feb 15, 2016 1:45 pm
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Do you push?
Replies: 6
Views: 1750

Re: Do you push?

Sure:

20160215.jpg
20160215.jpg (78.16 KiB) Viewed 1734 times


I'm currently again in a negative streak, way below my usual results; I'm trying to understand if I'm getting something really wrong, and meanwhile maybe I can improve my reading of the board.
by Mauro
Mon Feb 15, 2016 12:42 am
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Do you push?
Replies: 6
Views: 1750

Re: Do you push?

Thinking about it, I should have at least three safe tiles: I see all of 9m and of 8m (and even three 6m); that means my three 9m are safe.
by Mauro
Sun Feb 14, 2016 10:35 pm
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Do you push?
Replies: 6
Views: 1750

Do you push?

This is something I'm thinking about: when to push and when to fold. I had a rather terrible game in which I ended up fourth, and while some of the hands I paid were kinda unavoidable some I'm not sure I played at best other hands; one was this: 20160214.jpg South 3, I'm third by 1700; toimen and ka...
by Mauro
Sat Feb 13, 2016 7:12 pm
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Do you riichi?
Replies: 54
Views: 19200

Re: Do you riichi?

Would you go in defense if after kamicha riichied you should discard dangerous tiles?

Not sure what's hanetsumo :?
by Mauro
Sat Feb 13, 2016 11:24 am
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Do you riichi?
Replies: 54
Views: 19200

Re: Do you riichi?

Both can improve to 1345 on one end, but 134 can improve to 1234 which is like a lone 4 but better, and 145 can improve to 1456, which is just a lone 1 Yup, but since 1234 is quite flexible as a form, I think I'd keep the 1 in 134, rather than that in 145. Another situation: 20160213.jpg South 4, I...
by Mauro
Fri Feb 12, 2016 2:26 pm
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Do you riichi?
Replies: 54
Views: 19200

Re: Do you riichi?

According to Daina's book, if it's a pon don't bother asking yourself if the tiles near the discard are safe or dangerous; if it's a chii and the discard is in the same suit, it's likely safe; if it's a chii and the discard is in another suit, it's likely dangerous (which, pon aside, agrees with wha...
by Mauro
Fri Feb 12, 2016 12:05 am
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Do you riichi?
Replies: 54
Views: 19200

Re: Do you riichi?

Sanshoku which is normally rare is even harder with the character tile suit distribution Do you mean the tiles visible on the whole board? One reason to hold on to and then discard 2 is because you have 24, and then you draw a 5, and your wait changes from 3 only to 3/6. If you instead call and the...
by Mauro
Thu Feb 11, 2016 9:03 am
Forum: Mahjong Dojo
Topic: Do you riichi?
Replies: 54
Views: 19200

Re: Do you riichi?

It's possible toimen needs 3m, but their hand isn't likely expensive and they aren't the dealer and there aren't any warning signs like them discarding 4m or 5m from their hand last discard either Why do you think their hand isn't expensive? If the 2p was discarded after a call, then 6p isn't so da...
by Mauro
Wed Feb 10, 2016 3:49 pm
Forum: Tenhou
Topic: Tenhou progress thread
Replies: 5
Views: 2446

Re: Tenhou progress thread

I'm trying to reach 3rd dan; I had a coupla bad streaks that set me behind, but overall I think I'm on the right track. This is my last month:

20160210.jpg
20160210.jpg (9.44 KiB) Viewed 2439 times

Now I just need to get less fourth places (hoping to deal less when riichied and to opponents in dama in sixth turn :mrgreen: ).

Go to advanced search